New West Trade Partnership Agreement

For more information on the obligations to purchase domestic and international trade agreements, visit the Alberta Purchasing Connection homepage. For feedback and general questions about the role of the Government of Alberta in these national and international trade agreements, please contact the Trade Policy Office. The new Western Partnership Agreement came into force on July 1, 2010. Alberta and British Columbia have already complied with the terms of the agreement at the time of its creation. Saskatchewan is expected to fully implement the agreement by July 1, 2013. Manitoba joined the partnership on November 17, 2016. [5] Since July 1, 2017, the TIA has been replaced by the CFTA and is no longer in force. However, for commercial disputes opened before July 1, 2017 and for markets open before July 1, 2017, the AIT rules continue to apply until these proceedings are closed. Note: There are currently no registration requirements for individual companies or general partnerships engaged in extra-provincial activities (in provinces other than your home province). However, they must obtain the necessary licences and authorizations, as required by local governments in their legal orders.

a comprehensive agreement to remove barriers to trade mobility, investment and labour mobility between British Columbia, Alberta and Saskatchewan. The agreement covers all public bodies, including ministries and their agencies, boards of directors and commissions, crown companies, municipalities, school boards and government-funded academic, health and social organizations. The TYA was signed in 1994 by the federal, provincial and territorial governments (excluding Nunavut) and came into force in 1995. The TIA was the first pan-Canadian agreement to remove barriers to the free movement of people, goods, services and investment in Canada. With these agreements, Alberta wants to improve access to markets for goods, services, suppliers, labour, investors and investments in Alberta, the West and across the country. Alberta has entered Canadian and foreign markets through trade agreements with other governments. These agreements create a framework for fair and equitable trade rules. Such rules ensure open and non-discriminatory treatment that protects Albertans, businesses and their investors in markets outside Alberta. The New Western Partnership Agreement (NWPTA) is an internal trade agreement that aims to integrate the economies of three provinces.

It is often characterized by supporters, critics and the media as an expansion of the existing B.C.-Alberta Trade Mobility, Investment and Labour Mobility Agreement (TILMA), signed on April 28, 2006, which provides a virtual economic union between the two provinces. However, the Saskatchewan provincial government, led by Brad Wall of the Saskatchewan Party, said the NWPTA provides fairer treatment to Saskatchewan Crown businesses, which was one of the most significant public complaints that prevented Saskatchewan from joining TILMA in 2007. [1] [2] [3] The federal government is responsible for negotiating Canada`s international trade agreements. The Alberta government defends provincial interests when the federal government negotiates these international agreements, particularly in areas of provincial jurisdiction or where there are significant economic benefits to the province.